The JP niconico site is now available in English. To view the JP niconico Live site
in English, scroll to the bottom of the page and change the "Language" setting to "English (US)" from the drop-up list. The user interface is in English, but program titles and descriptions are still in Japanese.
To use timeshift, you must be logged in. You can log in or sign up for a free account by clicking on red "Login" option on the page header bar on the niconico Live page.
Free users can reserve a timeshift until 30 minutes before a program's start time. Premium users can reserve a timeshift as long as timeshift is available for that program, even after its broadcast.
To timeshift a program, click on the button with a clock on it that says "Reserve for Timeshift" on the program page or the niconico Live page
. A popup will appear saying that the timeshifted program will be available for viewing 30 minutes after its broadcast and how long the program will be available for timeshift viewing. Click the "Reserve Timeshift" button to reserve the timeshift. The popup will then change to one saying that the program has been "Added to timeshift reservation."
You can see your list of timeshifts by clicking the "Check the Timeshift reservation on My Page" link on the popup. You can also access "My Page" by hovering over the "Menu" option located on the upper right hand corner of the page header bar and selecting "My Page" from the drop-down list.
Premium users have 30 timeshift slots. With a free account, you have 10 timeshift slots. To watch a timeshifted program, click "Watch." Viewing rights for timeshifted programs differs from program to program, so always check if there is a date and time (in red) by which you can watch a timeshift before it expires. For most timeshifts, once you start watching the program, you are given about 24 hours + program time until your viewing rights expire. So if you start watching something, you should finish watching it as soon as possible.
If you use up all your timeshift slots, you will need to delete a program to clear up a slot. You can do so by clicking on the red "[Delete]" option.